Could Arizona Have A No Texting While Driving Law?
[tm_pb_section admin_label=”section”][tm_pb_row admin_label=”row”][tm_pb_column type=”1_2″][tm_pb_text admin_label=”Text” text_orientation=”left” use_border_color=”off” border_color=”#ffffff” border_style=”solid”]
Arizona is one of only three states not to have a statute banning texting and driving. The legislature has introduced some variation of an anti-texting law ten times, but each time it failed. This session the Senate is considering SB 1261 a full ban of texting while driving. Essentially the proposed law would prohibit the use of “wireless communication device” to read, write or send an electronic message while operating a motor vehicle unless the vehicle is stopped. It would include affirmative defenses, such as use with hands free device, use of a navigation system or to report illegal activity. The law would impose fines of between $25 and $ 99 for a first offense and $100 to $200 for a subsequent offense.
If the use of the device while driving results in a motor vehicle related death or serious bodily injury, the driver could face a class 2 misdemeanor, which carries a potential 4 months in a county jail
[/tm_pb_text][/tm_pb_column][tm_pb_column type=”1_2″][tm_pb_image admin_label=”Image” src=”https://thomaslawaz.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/qtq80-xf5MXd.jpeg” show_in_lightbox=”off” url_new_window=”off” use_overlay=”off” animation=”left” sticky=”off” align=”left” force_fullwidth=”off” always_center_on_mobile=”on” use_border_color=”off” border_color=”#ffffff” border_style=”solid” /][/tm_pb_column][/tm_pb_row][/tm_pb_section]